Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Depends on what you're doing. For "conventional" DC throttle operation, there are large scale 0-24VDC power supplies available that supply enough current to run O scale equipment. You can also use a variable AC transformer (like the MTH Z4000 or early Lionel ZW's) with a 25-amp bridge rectifier and DPDT switch to use as a DC power supply. I have no experience with tethered walk-arounds, so I can't offer any suggestions.

For DCC, a friend of mine is using Lionel 180-watt AC "Bricks" to power his NCE DCC system. These are a fixed 18VAC at 10Amps. MTH makes a comparable "brick" but I like Lionel's On/Off switch and circuit breaker.

If you want to "roll your own" there are plenty of step-down transformers out there that produce 18-24VAC on the secondary and plenty of circuits on-line for throttles for DC operation.

Hope this helps.

I use Variacs and transformers, fused and switched on both ends, with a Radio Shack bridge rectifier, a giant capacitor, and a red light to tell me when I have left it on.  I have been in O Scale for 55 years, and have called these things transformers and power supplies interchangeably.

Building your own can be hazardous if you are not careful, but it is relatively easy and inexpensive - especially if you find surplus Variacs and step-down transformers.

O Scale DC is just like HO DC.   Any DC power pack will word - - provided it generates enought amperage.   Most modern models in O scale do not draw very  high currents, so most any pack should work.

Dallee Electronics makes two specific power supplies for O scale.  http://www.dallee.com/site_index.htm

GML Enterprses also makes a line of throttles that include 3 amp, 4 amp, and 6 amp capacities.   The 6 amp will run any old high current O Scale.

http://www.thegmlenterprises.com/index.html