Skip to main content

I'm new to the hobby and I currently divided between whether I fill focus more on 2 rail or 3 rail predominantly. My impression is there are few 2 rail products, mainly locomotives out there. Does anyone have any information, advice or inspiration that they can share me? Does MTH make any 2 rail products.

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

2 Rail is all over the place. Atlas is off the shelf 2 rail and MTH and Weaver makes their own 2 rail trucks to convert theirs. Even Lionel is easier then it use to be, just look at what Erik and some of these guys are doing on these threads. As far as engines IMHO, Steam is 3rd Rail, and diesel is Atlas. You can go higher end if you want but these are RTR and easy to get. I personally see no reason for myself to bother with "3 rail scale" , IMHO.

I've stayed with 3 rail scale, which means I pull 2 rail rolling stock with 3 rail locos because the Lionel TMCC is so reliable and relatively easy to upgrade older locomotives with Lionel's ERR tmcc products and railsounds.

I would suggest you view the black diamond 3 rail videos on line and Norm Charbanough's videos for 3 rail and then check out some good 2 rail videos before you choose.

Where is your focus gonna be and how much time and effort in detailing are you into. It's all fun and just day dreaming and planning for what you want to create is a joy.

Good Luck,

Ron H

Besseemer Sam,

Congratulations on getting into this great hobby and joining the forum. I didn't find your email address in your profile, but have a lot of information...too much to list here that will help you in your focus. Contrary to popular belief there is much product available to 2 rail and today it is easier than ever to get started. If you contact me off list, I will even share my copy of an o scale magazine that will open the door to many 2 rail sources and ideas that will help in your search for the best way to go.

Promoting the hobby,

Jeb Kriigel

Mega-Steam